The Critics Choice Association’s Celebration of Cinema and Television Honoring Black, Latino, and AAPI Achievements in 2023 | Festivals & Awards

by -127 Views

Jamie Foxx’s surprise appearance to accept the Vanguard Award was the hit of the evening, as most know he’s been ill for a while, and this was his first public appearance. He began by thanking everyone and saying, “Six months ago, I couldn’t actually do that; I couldn’t actually walk.” He went on to talk about his frightening journey, how grateful he is to be alive, and to tell everyone that he is now back. 

The ensemble from “The Color Purple.” Photo Credit: Getty Images for Critics Choice Association.

Below is the full list of honorees…

Icon Award: Edward James Olmos, “Mayans M.C.,” “Stand and Deliver,” “Selena”

Career Achievement Award: Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary,” “Moesha,” “To Sleep with Anger”

Comedy Trailblazer Award: Ken Jeong, “The Masked Singer,” “The Afterparty,” “The Hangover” franchise

Visionary Award: Jeffrey Wright, “American Fiction”

Groundbreaker Award: America Ferrera, “Barbie,” “Dumb Money”

Producer Award: Charles D. King, “They Cloned Tyrone”

Breakthrough Director Award (Film): Eva Longoria, “Flamin’ Hot”

Actress Award (Film): Greta Lee, “Past Lives”

Actor Award (Film): Colman Domingo, “Rustin”

Ensemble Award (Film): Taraji P. Henson, Danielle Brooks, Fantasia Barrino, H.E.R., Halle Bailey, Phyliciua Peral Mpasai, Colman Domingo and Corey Hawkins, “The Color Purple”

Supporting Actress Award (Film): Da’Vine Joy Randolph, “The Holdovers”

Animation Award: Kemp Powers, “Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse”

International Animation Award: Makoto Shinkai, “Suzume”

Documentary Series Award: Allen Hughes, “Dear Mama”


No More Posts Available.

No more pages to load.